I signed up to buy Ford Maverick

Ford is building a small “truck” with 40MPG hybrid base model priced at $20K. I ordered the ecoboost engine with 4K tow package.

I am a heavy highway driver and the hybrid gas savings is only 1MPG better on highway than the all gas model so I opted for the gas model. I know its not really a truck since it is a unibody but for someone like me this could be a real winner. Living in the country and frequently buying feed, tractor parts, and other things that have no business being hauled in a trunk or cab of a vehicle. After the warranty period, I will likely convert it to run on propane and fill it at home.

This is going to be my first new vehicle that is not a Toyota. I hope ford delivers a homerun.

https://www.ford.com/trucks/maverick/2022/

That may end up being my daughters “after college” vehicle.
I am not doing a deep dive into all the features, but I can definitely see her in that.

If they can keep that base model close to $20k, they will sell all they can make.

I thought you were talking about this. Guess my age is showing

I used to have a 1970 Ford Maverick.

I actually love the old maverick. If I could find a reasonably priced V8 maverick I would buy it. Most of these have serious rust issues in the rear wheel well. I had a 73 Mercury Comet (twin to the Maverick).

My daughter can have the new one, I want that!

I went in and played around with the build option. The hybrid is actually $1,000 LESS than the gas engine. It looked like there was a slew of options you could add…It will be interesting to see how dealers will order them and how close to the advertised price point they can stay.