Enrolled in night trade school

Tomorrow is my first day of class at local votech. Its a 7 week night class on m&w 6-9 for welding. I already know how to weld but i want to learn some new processes and get some more confidence in structure welding since I am self taught.

Class cost is a whopping $295 + $25 book fee. Sure is a lot cheaper than one of those college degrees. Id like to build my own steel barn this spring.

The full time welding program that is like 18 months is only $4,200 plus $300 in fees. Thats an amazing deal and it is completely free for high school students.

1 Like

Sounds cool. Should be a lot of demand right now.

1 Like

Interesting. Google says a welder makes 24 an hour.

I knew a guy welding in the 90’s making over 40 an hour. Though he did speciality work. He welded fuel tanks.

1 Like

Would love to find a course like that.

He learned to weld in the navy. I don’t think he was a diver through.

He traveled a lot repairing fuel tanks. I remember he talked about you had to fill the fuel tank all the way to prevent explosions.

Lots of community colleges teach it. Ours does.

There are some fun classes offered by our community center.
I was going to take a bread making class this month, but it fell on the same night as my son’s senior night for swimming.

It all varies a lot based on certification, experience, type, and location. Your average shop welder might make low 20’s while an experienced pipeline welder might make $250,000 during a oil boom. There are a lot of traveling welders that work on pipelines and make big $ but it comes with cost of being away from friends and family. The average welder that has his own machine on his truck is probably $60-100 per hour depending on location, skills, and type of welding.