Column: Adding dental coverage to Medicare makes a lot of sense — except to dentists

I am posting this under the humor category. Just picturing Henrius reading this is enough to crack me up. :grinning:

That’s why I don’t listen too much to Henrius on universal care opinions. Funny thing is doctors seem to get paid well enough in europe.

Apples and oranges. Most don’t come out with the debt we have and also have a much shorter medical school.

While doctors appear to make insane salaries, most don’t but you also need to think they put their wages on hold for 12-16 years.

We also make it overly complicated to become a doctor here to reduce supply. Many European countries try to increase the supply to keep cost down.

Agreed. I don’t doubt for a minute that there are other factors too that come into play. I am no expert on this industry by any means, but I would surmise that malpractice insurance is one such factor too.

That is why I am hoping that @Henrius will see this and weigh-in with his observations. He may be biased from where he sits, but he also has an insider perspective that many of us, myself included, do not.

You don’t know anything about what MDs net in Europe. Not any more than you know about orthodontics, which is zero. FYI, I have an Italian orthopedic surgeon in my practice. (She has a commuting marriage to an American.)

Sure can’t have plenty of enough physicians in Europe, with the waiting times for non-emergency surgeries like joint replacements.

If they are paid so well, how come Great Brittain has to import so many physicians from Eastern Europe? They even fly some in on weekends to staff British ERs.

The LA Times- as good a source of information about CNN.